Wyandot County Regional Planning Commission

The Wyandot County Regional Planning Commission is made up of nine at-large representatives from the townships, a representative from the Board of Commissioners, the Public Health Commissioner, Soil and Water Conservation District, the County Engineer's office, and an Extension Educator.  In addition, two citizen representatives serve on the commission.

The scope of the responsibilities of the planning commission is spelled out in the Ohio Revised Code (ORC).  The commission is guided by the Wyandot County Subdivision Regulations in the course of their duties on the commission.

The purpose of regional planning regulations is to ensure that proposed lots in Wyandot County have access to suitable roads, to sanitary services or are able to support sewage treatment systems, and have adequate access for utilities.  A set of regulations governing how land is divided in a county gives the property owner confidence that they have the full intended use of that property.

Wyandot County Flood Prevention Regulations & Records

The Wyandot County Flood Prevention Regulations and Records is made to promote the public health, safety and general welfare and to minimize public and private losses due to flood conditions in specific areas by provisions designed to:

  1. Protect human life and health
  2. Minimize expenditure of public money for costly flood control projects
  3. Minimize the need for rescue and relief efforts associated with flooding and generally undertaken at the expense of the general public
  4. Minimize prolonged business interruptions
  5. Minimize damage to public facilities and utilities such as water and gas mains, electric, telephone, and sewer lines, streets and bridges located in areas of specific flood hazard
  6. Help maintain a stable tax base by providing for the proper use and development of areas of special flood hazard so as to minimize future flood blight areas
  7. Ensure that potential buyers are aware that property is in an area of special flood hazard
  8. Ensure that those who occupy the areas of special flood hazard assume responsibility for their actions

"Before You Build"- What to do Prior to Development in a Floodplain

Wyandot County Economic Development